

### The Abdus Salam **International Centre for Theoretical Physics**

# **Sixth International Conference on** PERSPECTIVES **IN HADRONIC PHYSICS**

## 12 - 16 May 2008

### **Miramare-Trieste**, Italy

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), in collaboration with the Italian National Institute for Nuclear and Physics (INFN), will organize the Sixth International Conference on Perspectives in Hadronic Physics, which will be held at ICTP, Trieste, Italy, from 12 to 16 May, 2008.

The Conference follows the previous ones held in 1997, 1999, 2001, 2003 and 2006. The 2008 Conference will focus on the present and future theoretical and experimental activities in the field of the structure of hadrons and cold and hot hadronic matters. To this end, the following subjects will be discussed:

- the structure of hadrons
- the hadron response to an external probe
- hadrons in the nuclear medium
- unusual states of nuclear matter
- experimental developments





#### **CO-SPONSOR:**



National Institute for Nuclear Physics, Italy

### LOCAL ORGANISING **COMMITTEE:**

S. Boffi (Pavia) C. Ciofi degli Atti (Perugia) M. Giannini (Genova) **D.** Treleani (Trieste)

The Conference will consist of invited and contributed talks, followed by discussion sessions. Proceedings will be published.

The list of invited speakers and the programme will appear in the Second Announcement (or it will be made available on the ICTP home page: http://www.ictp.trieste.it/ by clicking on Scientific Calendar 2008 and under the activity name or directly on: http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?1942).

#### PARTICIPATION

Scientists and students from all countries which are members of the United Nations, UNESCO or IAEA may attend the School. As it will be conducted in English, participants should have an adequate working knowledge of this language. Although the main purpose of the Centre is to help research workers from developing countries, through a programme of training activities within a framework of international cooperation, a limited number of students and post-doctoral scientists from developed countries are also welcome to attend.

As a rule, travel and subsistence expenses of the participants should be borne by the home institution. Every effort should be made by candidates to secure support for their fare (or at least half-fare). However, limited funds are available for some participants, who are nationals of, and working in, a developing country, and who are not more than 45 years old. Such support is available only for those who attend the entire activity. There is no registration fee.

#### **Requests for participation**

There is no registration fee for attending the School. The "Request for Participation" form is obtainable on the Internet: http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?1942 It should be completed, signed and returned by using only one of the following ways before 1 February 2008:

If sending an application by e-mail to smr1942@ictp.it please save and send file attachments in either PDF (preferably) or RTF zipped or Doc format.

#### If sending an application form by regular mail or courier it should be posted to:

Sixth International Conference on Perspectives In Hadronic Physics (smr1942 c/o Ms. F. Delconte) the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics Strada Costiera II 34014 Trieste, Italy

(recent photograph & signature of the candidate are compulsory)

Conference Secretariat:

Telephone: +39-040-2240-9932 Telefax: +39-040-2240-7932 E-mail: smr1942@ictp.it Conference web page: http://agenda.ictp.it/smr.php?1942 ICTP Home Page: http://www.ictp.it/

November 2007

#### **INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE:**

J.-P. Blaizot (Saclay) S. Brodsky (Stanford) V. Burkert (TJNAF) M. Anselmino (Torino) E. De Sanctis (Frascati) Yu. Dokshitzer (Paris) **D. Drechsel (Mainz)** E. Ferreira (Rio de Janeiro) W. Gloeckle (Bochum) W. Haxton (Seattle) F. Iachello (Yale) C.W. de Jager (TJNAF) **B. Kopeliovich (Valparaiso)** S. Kumano (KEK) P. Marchesini (Milano) L. McLerran (BNL) U. -G. Meissner (Bonn) **U. Mosel (Giessen)** T. Nakano (Osaka) E. Piasetzky (Tel Aviv) W-D. Nowak (DESY) J. Oiu (Iowa State) A. Richter (Darmstadt) G. Rosner (Glasgow) R. Schiavilla (ODU) H. Stöcker (GSI) M. Strikman (Penn. State) A.W. Thomas (Adelaide) V. Vento (Valencia) U. Wiedemann (CERN)

